Vegan diets: review of nutrition and health benefits and risks

The growing popularity of vegetarian – and more specifically vegan – diets, the media controversy surrounding the publication of the report “Aspects sanitaires de la consommation de viande” (“Health aspects of meat consumption”) and the increasing number of scientific publications in this field have aroused significant interest amongst members of the Federal Commission for Nutrition (FCN), prompting them to update their 2007 report on “Alimentation végétarienne : avantages et désavantages” (“Vegetarian diets: advantages and disadvantages”).
However, this new report has gone beyond simply revising the original, instead redirecting its focus towards vegan diets in particular. On the one hand, it examines vegan diets in relation to various disorders and diseases (primarily non-communicable diseases) and their impact on mortality, while on the other hand it highlights the risks of certain nutrient deficiencies linked to this type of diet in different age groups.
The authors of this report have drawn from the pool of scientific knowledge currently available to provide interested readers and health experts with information on the risks and benefits of vegan diets, thus helping people in Switzerland to make an informed decision on their own diet.  

FCN - Report

The Federal Commission for Nutrition  

The Federal Commission for Nutrition (FCN) is an extra-parliamentary commission that acts in an advisory capacity. It prepares scientifically based opinions and expert reports in the field of nutrition or on the effect of nutrition on health for the Federal Council and for the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office (FSVO). The commission is an internal body supporting the federal government and provides technical and scientific expertise in various topics concerned with nutrition.

The members of the commission include representatives from education and research in the field of nutritional sciences and food sciences, from nutritional medicine, the food industry and food trade, and consumer organisations.

https://www.eek.admin.ch/content/eek/en/home.html

Rapport de la COFA

Régimes végétaliens : analyse des avantages et des inconvénients sur le plan nutrionnel et sur la santé

Le succès croissant de l’alimentation végétarienne et plus particulièrement végétalienne, la polémique médiatique suscitée par la publication du rapport « aspects sanitaires de la consommation de viande » et l’intensification des publications scientifiques dans le domaine ont suscité l’intérêt, auprès des membres de la COFA d’effectuer une actualisation du rapport publié en 2007 « Alimentation végétarienne : avantages et désavantages ».
Ce rapport est allé au-delà d’une simple réactualisation. En effet, la diète végétalienne est l’élément central du rapport. D’une part en tant que régime alimentaire en relation avec divers troubles, des maladies (principalement les maladies non transmissibles) et incidence sur la mortalité. D’autre part, le rapport met en évidence les risques de carences en certains nutriments liés à ce type de régime en fonction des différents groupes d’âge.
Les auteurs de ce rapport sont allés puiser dans les connaissances scientifiques actuelles afin d’aider les intéressés et les experts en santé à s’informer des risques et des bénéfices d’une diète végétalienne et ainsi aider la population en Suisse à prendre une décision en toute connaissance de cause.

Régimes végétaliens: analyse des avantages et des inconvénients sur le plan nutritionnel et pour la santé (2018)

La Commission fédérale de l'alimentation  

La Commission fédérale de l'alimentation (COFA) est une commission extraparlementaire avec une fonction consultative. Elle élabore, à l'intention du Conseil fédéral et de l'Office fédéral de la sécurité alimentaire et des affaires vétérinaires (OSAV) des prises de position et des rapports d'experts scientifiquement fondés dans le domaine de la nutrition et de son impact sur la santé. Elle soutient l'administration fédérale en tant qu'organe de milice et met à disposition des connaissances techniques et scientifiques sur les différents thèmes liés à l'alimentation.

La commission compte parmi ses membres des représentants de la formation et de la recherche dans les sciences nutritionnelles et alimentaires, des représentants de la médecine nutritionnelle, de l'industrie agroalimentaire, du commerce, ainsi que des associations de consommateurs
 

 

 

https://www.eek.admin.ch/content/eek/fr/home.html